Whitman County Sheriff's Office Logo

About Us

The Whitman County Jail is part of the Whitman County Sheriff's Office. We are located in Colfax, Washington. The Whitman County Jail was built in 1984. In 2014 we increased our bed space to 62. We have the ability to add more temporary bunks should the need arise. On most days the jail population is approximately 30-35, however it swells above that many times throughout the year.

The city of Colfax is the county seat for Whitman County. Colfax is approximately 60 miles south of Spokane, Washington. Whitman County borders the state of Idaho.

Whitman County borders Spokane, Lincoln, Adams, Asotin, Garfield, Columbia, and Benton counties in Washington. It also borders Benawah, Latah, and Nez Perce counties in Idaho.